Kimba in the Bush

Painting Kimba was a bit of a challenge firstly as the picture I had to work from was quite blurry and did not show much detail. I had to look online for clearer pictures of similar looking dogs to give me a better idea of facial detail. Hopefully I managed to capture Kimba well enough. Secondly Kimba’s owner wanted her in the bush which I hadn’t done before. Again I used the palette knife for the background on this one to create texture. It was an interesting challenge, but certainly worthwhile to take note for future paintings that the clearer the picture, the easier it will be to put in all those details. Anyway, I think Kimba turned out pretty well in the end. Now she’s just sitting above my laptop station staring at me waiting to be posted to her owner 😉

Leave a comment